The Humpday Gazette

Stories of “The Talk”

In February 2011 on February 2, 2011 at 4:28 am

The Birds and the Bees: Due to cultural background, poor timing, or the general awkwardness many feel discussing *it* with our parents, not all parental wisdom on sex is shared in the best way. When asking a range of  Dartmouth students how they were given “the talk,” we got a wide range of  responses.

When I was in high school and had my first serious girlfriend, my dad came to my room one day and said, “Look son… I don’t care what happens. As long as you don’t get anyone pregnant or get any STDs.” And he threw me a pack of condoms.  -Male

My birds and the bees talk was pretty straightforward: my mom sat my sister and I down (I was way too young for this) and went: lets talk about penises. I ran out of the room screaming. It got to the point where I was afraid to be alone in a room with my mom and would stay glued to my dad. Car rides were particularly horrific.  -Female

My dad tried to give me the sex-talk when I was 15. He first told me to read my sisters Biology textbooks (*eye-roll*), and then sat me down telling me he had “something important to tell me”. When and told him I already knew, he was shocked and actually cried out, “How?!” -Male

I never got a sex talk and moved schools in such a way I missed sex education in school. Just last break my dad told me that you could get pregnant from “kissing and toilet seats.” So I’ve had to do a lot of self-education….  -Female

I didn’t really get a sex talk from my parents, except my mom telling me that if she found out I was having sex she would “cut it off.” It was terrifying.  -Male

When my mom was pregnant with my younger brother, I got a computer program called “Where Do Babies Come From?” I didn’t really think to ask the question of how the sperm found itself in the woman’s body, so I didn’t unlock the level actually explaining sex until I was around 11. When I asked my mom why anyone would ever want to do that, she told me I might have a change of heart in a few years.  -Female

Leave a Reply

