The Humpday Gazette

Freshmen and Seniors Talk About Dating at Dartmouth

In 12W on March 10, 2012 at 7:11 pm

How do students feel about dating at Dartmouth? Do their perspectives change over the course of four years?

‘12 Female: …I was shocked by the hook- up culture at Dartmouth at first, and I never imagined that I would ever participate in it, but now it seems almost as natural as breathing… It’s easy to start measuring your worth by who you hook up with. So my advice to you, ‘15s, is to stay true to what you’re trying to get out of a relationship (serious or casual) and don’t compromise on it. Also be able to respect yourself regardless of what others might think.

‘15 Female: I think I got swept away during the fall by the fun and excitement of it all, and as the ‘12 above said, I started measuring my self-worth by how many brothers at a frat I knew or had hooked up with… I realized, though, that this wasn’t really fulfilling for me. It may be fun every once in  a while, sure, but it is not what makes or breaks my happiness.

‘12 Male: …You don’t have to be gay, straight, polyamorous, cis-gendered or whatever. Sleep with who you like however many times you like, don’t be afraid if your tastes change and be open to new ideas! (Of course, be safe and always use protection.) The world would be a lot happier if people did what they liked and followed Kate Bornstein’s simple maxim of “Don’t be mean!”

‘15  Male: I don’t think dating here is looked down upon. But I have heard some upper-classman guys say they “wasted last year in a relationship,” as if they would rather hook up with a different girl every week- end. Personally I would have no problem settling into a relationship with someone whose company I would really enjoy, but that view may change over the years.

Leave a Reply

